The Strength of Love | Review of The Daughter’s Tale by Armando Lucas Correa

My Thoughts

This book was captivating from the very start. A Daughter’s Tale tells the amazing story of two sisters separated in the worst possible circumstances during World War II. The story spans the gap from 1939 Berlin to 2015 New York City, and takes the reader on a journey they won’t soon forget.

Amanda Sternburg lost her husband early in the war and was thrust into world she never dreamed possible. In what seems like the blink of an eye Amanda’s life turned upside down. Amanda was forced into the role of sole provider of her two girls in a world that was becoming increasingly hostile. Before he died, Amanda’s husband Julius arranged for Amanda to send the girls to Cuba and away from the horrors that were intruding on them in Germany. Amanda had to make an impossible choice–one that no mother should be forced to make. Should she send her girls into an unknown future across the ocean or should she keep them within her reach and potentially risk all of their lives? The story follows Amanda and her family as they navigate a new world–a world riddled with war, injustice, and devastation.

I really enjoyed reading this one. It reminded me very much of some of the other historical fiction I have read. I think Correa does an excellent job of making his characters very relate-able even in the midst of circumstances that I can barely fathom. His portrayal of Amanda–the mother in the story was particularly poignant. Even though I have never been in Amanda’s shoes, the description of her was such that I felt truly empathetic with her–almost as if I knew her. The story both one of devastation and the loss of all that is familiar, and it is also a powerful story of the power of a love that transcends both time and place. If you are a fan of Lilac Girls, All the Light Between Us, or The German Girl, I definitely think that this book would be a good one to put on your radar!

Star Rating: 4/5

From the Publisher

“The Daughter’s Tale is immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive, steeped in harrowing historical events and heroic acts of compassion that will have you reflecting on the best and worst the human heart has to offer. Fans of WWII history and book clubs will find depth and skillful storytelling here, but on a deeper level, searing questions about life, love, and the choices we make in the most impossible of circumstances.” —Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable family saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

BERLIN, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the south of France, where the widow of an old friend of her husband’s has agreed to take her in. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter­rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice.

NEW YORK, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Despite Elise’s best efforts to stave off her past, seven decades of secrets begin to unravel.

Based on true events, The Daughter’s Tale chronicles one of the most harrowing atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during the war. Heart­breaking and immersive, it is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

This book comes out tomorrow (May 7th)! You can purchase it here.

Thank you to @netgalley and @atriabooks for the Advanced Reader Copy!

Finally, thank you for taking the time to read this review. I’d love to know what you think about this book or this review. You can comment here, or you can find me on Instagram at @stephyreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s